NMT EE 589 & UNM ME 482/582: Robotics Engineering

Instructor: Dr. Stephen Bruder (Applied Technology Associates) email: mailto:bruder@aptec.com

Course Objective: Provide an introductory understanding of the multi-disciplinary field of robotics. Emphasis is placed on learning how to model (kinematics & dynamics) and control robotic manipulators.

Required Textbook: Introduction to Robotics Mechanics and Control, 3/E by John J. Craig (Errata)

Optional Textbook: Robotics, Vision and Control, by Peter Corke & Free MATLAB Robotics Toolbox

Grader\TA:

        NMT - Henry Godmanhgodman@nmt.edu &

        UNM - Cyrus Abbasi, cabbasi@unm.edu Instructions from the grader

Grading Scheme

Undergrad UNM ME 482 NMT EE 589

Grad Student UNM ME 582

10 Assignments

30%

30%

2 Mid-Term Exams

30%

30%

Final Exam Project (pdf)

40%

30%

Give a 15 min lecture

 

10%

Final Project Selections:

Name Joint Sequence Additional Info
Daniel Guillette RRPRP sketch
Tom Hall RRRP
Richard Rivera RRRRP sketch
Chris Yelton PRRRR
Stalin Rios RRRRRR PR2 - Robot
Juan C Parra Diaz RRRRRR FANUC LR Mate 200iB
Kirby A Witte RRPRRR sketch
Busayo Ojumu PPRRPR video
Victor Nevarez RRRRRR Battet WAM Arm
Jon Schlavin RRRRRR photo
David Siler PPPRRR CAD Model

Lectures: Tuesday and Thursday @ 8:00am to 9:15am: UNM Woodward Hall room 147 & NMT Cramer 123

Week#

Date

Topic

Homework

Additional Material

Textbook Section

1

Tue 21 Aug

Introduction & Course Overview (pdf)

 

 

 

Chapter 1

Thur 23 Aug

Spatial Relationships: Pos/Orientation (pdf)

 

 

 

Section 2.2

2

Tue 28 Aug

Spatial Rel.: Min Descriptions of Orientation (pdf)

 

 

MATLAB Files
VRML files

Section 2.8

Thur 30 Aug

Spatial Rel.: Min Descriptions of Orientation (pdf)

 

 

MATLAB Files
VRML files

Section 2.8

3

Tue 4 Sept

Spatial Rel.: Min Descriptions of Orientation (pdf)

Ass#1

Soln#1

MATLAB Files
VRML files

Section 2.8

Thur 6 Sept

Spatial Rel.: Pos & Orientation Trans (pdf)

 

 

MATLAB Files
VRML files

Section 2.3 - 2.7

4

Tue 11 Sept

Kinematics: Forward Kinematics (pdf)

Ass#2

Soln#2

MATLAB Files
Handout

Section 3.1 - 3.3

Thur 13 Sept

Kinematics: Forward Kinematics (pdf)

 

 

MATLAB Files
Handout

Section 3.4 - 3.7

5

Tue 18 Sept

Kinematics: Inverse Kinematics (pdf)

Ass#3

Soln#3

MATLAB Files
Handout

Chapter 4

Thur 20 Sept

Kinematics: Inverse Kinematics (pdf)

 

 

MATLAB Files
Handout

Chapter 4

6

Tue 25 Sept

Motion Kinematics Part 1 (pdf)

Ass#4

Soln#4

Handout

Chap 5

Thur 27 Sept

Motion Kinematics Part 2 (pdf)

 

 

 

Chap 5

7

Tue 2 Oct

Motion Kinematics: Singularities (pdf)

Ass#5

Soln#5

 

Section 5.8

Thur 4 Oct

Open Lecture The CRS A255 Robot Example (pdf)

 

 

Handout

 

8

Tue 9 Oct

Mid Term Exam #1
In-Class, closed book, 1 cheat sheet, & a calculator

 

 

MATLAB File

 

Thur 11 Oct

Fall Break

 

 

 

 

9

Tue 16 Oct

Mid1 Review / Static Forces and Moments (pdf)

 

 

 

Section 5.6

Thur 18 Oct

Static Forces and Moments (pdf)

 

 

 

Section 5.9

10

Tue 23 Oct

Trajectory Generation & Path Planning (pdf)

Ass#6

Soln#6

 

Chapter 7

Thur 25 Oct

Trajectory Generation & Path Planning (pdf)

 

 

 

Chapter 7

11

Tue 30 Oct

Acceleration in Moving Frames (pdf)

Ass#7

Soln#7

MATLAB Files

Section 6.2

Thur 1 Nov

Lagrangian Dynamics (pdf)

 

 

MATLAB Files

Sect 6.3, 6.8, 6.9

12

Tue 6 Nov

A Step by Step Procedure to Construct the Dynamic Model (pdf)

Ass#8

Soln#8

 

Section 6.9

Thur 8 Nov

Examples of Constructing Robot Dynamic Models (pdf)

 

 

 

 

13

Tue 13 Nov

Manipulator Control: A Brief Review of 2nd Order LTI Sys (pdf)

Ass#9

Soln#9

 

Section 9.1 9.4

Thur 15 Nov

Open Lecture - Review

 

 

 

 

14

Tue 20 Nov

Mid Term Exam #2 (In-Class)

 

 

 

 

Thur 22 Nov

Thanksgiving, Holiday

 

 

 

 

15

Tue 27 Nov

Manipulator Control: Independent Joint Control (pdf)

Ass#10

Soln#10

 

Section 9.4 9.9

Thur 29 Nov

Manipulator Control: The Computed Torque Controller (pdf)

 

 

 

Chapter 10

16

Tue 4 Dec

Graduate Student 15 min lectures:

8:05 8:20am: Modeling the PR2 Robot - Towards Cloth Manipulation by Stalin Rios

8:25 8:40am: Vision and Obstacle Avoidance in Cartesian Space by Victor Nevarez

8:45 9:00am: The case for Robotic Home Health Care by Busayo Ojumu

 

 

 

 

Thur 6 Dec

Graduate Student 15 min lectures:

 

 

 

 

 

Tue 11 Dec

Final Exam Projects Due before 5pm
Submit Hardcopy to ME Office